Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

No More Mars Chocolate for Vegetarians

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.

Also affecting brands such as Snickers, Dove and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

More info


( 5 comments — Leave a comment )
May. 23rd, 2007 01:41 am (UTC)
They already did a U-turn on that, eg: http://www.just-food.com/article.aspx?id=98533

Lots of other stories at http://news.google.com/news?q=mars+vegetarian
May. 23rd, 2007 01:48 am (UTC)
I'm still wondering if the same people complaining about the chocolate care where the rennet for their cheese comes from.
May. 23rd, 2007 01:53 am (UTC)
I just found this article. I guess they had a change of heart.


The other interesting bit is that it was only being changed in the UK recipe.
May. 23rd, 2007 02:04 am (UTC)
Good to know - a friend was passing along a petition online link, sounds like it was effective!!
May. 23rd, 2007 02:11 am (UTC)
Me being the devout beef-o-tarian couldn't see the point in the recipe change either.
( 5 comments — Leave a comment )